How to Keep data synced between file GeoDatabase & ArcGIS Enterprise?

09-22-2020 11:47 AM
CarrieQuast
New Contributor II

Hello everyone - I'm sure there is an easy way to do this, but googling the problem isn't finding a solution.

I'm new to ArcGIS Enterprise, and I need to keep a parcel dataset synced between my GIS folder on a file server, and a ArcGIS Enterprise Server.

I was hoping there was a simple script I could attach to task scheduler that runs nightly, but I'm not finding anything. 

Thank you for your help.

0 Kudos
10 Replies
KoryKramer
Esri Community Moderator

Hopefully somebody in the Managing Data‌ or ArcGIS Enterprise‌ will be able to help!

0 Kudos
DavidPike
MVP Frequent Contributor

how large set are we talking? Synched as they are replicas of each other? Are you happy with a lift and shift or do you want change-only updates? Do you have FME?

0 Kudos
George_Thompson
Esri Frequent Contributor

How is your parcel data being consumed by ArcGIS Enterprise: file geodatabase, Enterprise geodatabase, hosted data, etc.?

--- George T.
0 Kudos
CarrieQuast
New Contributor II

I share the data out of ArcGIS Pro as a hosted feature layer.

0 Kudos
George_Thompson

Ok, so you need a way to update the hosted feature layer.

It could be done via Python scripting. I do not have an example per se, but here is some doc:

Manage hosted feature layers—Portal for ArcGIS | Documentation for ArcGIS Enterprise 

Updating features in a feature layer | ArcGIS for Developers 

--- George T.
0 Kudos
George_Thompson

To add additional thoughts:

What about moving the Parcels to an Enterprise geodatabase and publishing the service from that location?

That would allow a single location for update and publishing of data. Then you control what is available via the service with your Reconcile / Posting workflow.

--- George T.
0 Kudos
NicolaiChristensen
New Contributor

If you set up a replica database you do just that.