Select to view content in your preferred language

I'm a one-person GIS team. Let's connect!

03-22-2024 07:50 AM
Labels (2)
brooke
by
New Contributor

Hi everyone, 

I was hired straight out of school as a one-person GIS team, and thus I do not have many connections in the GIS community! I work for a non-profit conservation organization in British Columbia, Canada and mainly make maps centered around wildlife, ecosystems, and our research.

I would love to make some connections to chat GIS with. Please feel welcome to connect with me on LinkedIn if you are also looking to expand your network!

5 Replies
RosemaryBoone
Esri Regular Contributor

Hi Brooke - nice to e-meet you! Congrats on starting your GIS career immediately after graduating. Amazing! My name is Rosemary and I am a Sr Marketing Manager on Esri's Education team. I'm also one of the Esri YPN Advisory Board members. 

There's a few options for you to connect more with other GIS peers or possibly even find a mentor:

I connected with you on LinkedIn and feel free to also use me as a resource! Again, nice to meet you 🙂

torearth
New Contributor II

Hi Brooke, nice to meet you! I am based in BC and currently work as a GIS analyst in forestry with a focus on landuse planning initiatives. In addition, I am involved with a few environmental non-profits where I help with a variety of GIS analysis and tasks. I will send you a connection on LinkedIn  😊

ajzades
New Contributor II

Hi Brooke,

Your career sounds really interesting! I wanted to let you know of the URISA mentorship program, it was a great resource for me and I was able to develop a GIS relationship with a mentor through the program. Furthermore, there are local chapters which can help expand your geospatial community as well! 

I hope this helps! 

Tony_DLR22
New Contributor III

Hi Brooke,