Select to view content in your preferred language

A YPN Introduction!

03-01-2024 11:32 AM
Labels (2)
GinaGirgente
New Contributor III

Hi all! I'm new to YPN and just wanted to introduce myself. 

I graduated from Virginia Tech (go Hokies!) last year with a BA in Geography and minors in GIS and meteorology. I'm in my first year as a master's student studying climatology, but am transferring schools this fall so that I can get an MS in GIS instead! I love to learn, as well as the structure of academia, and have toyed with the idea of being a forever student instead of getting a stereotypical job. Because of my love for academia, I'm currently drawn towards becoming an Instructor/Professor, or any job that has dynamic challenges in physical/environmental geography and GIS.  I've recently started teaching myself website development and GIS web tool development, and am thinking about that as a career option as well. As I explore the GIS field further via my master's, I'd love guidance on how to get the most out of my degree and how to find what type of career is right for me.

Additionally, if you're an undergraduate student new to GIS, I would love to help you find your community within academia! I have created and headed multiple social and academic geography organizations, am very experienced in undergraduate research, and have also interned for Esri before, so I can give resources about how to find a grad school that's right for you, how to be involved in your local GIS/geography community, and how to be more a more competitive applicant 🙂

If you'd like to connect, please reach out to me on LinkedIn! https://www.linkedin.com/in/gina-girgente/ 

4 Replies
RosemaryBoone
Esri Regular Contributor