Looking for Guidance: Masters in GIS

12-18-2023 08:42 AM
ALaner
by
New Contributor II
2 7 766

Hi everyone! I'm looking for some advice from any mentors who have either considered or obtained a masters in GIS.

For those who have received their MSGIS, I'm wondering whether you have found your masters of be of great use in your roles and how so? Or have you found that many GIS roles are mostly a "learn on the job" type of situation and perhaps your coursework did not directly apply in the "real world" so to speak?

For those who decided against a MSGIS degree, did you do any other trainings or preparations that helped you get into your role without a degree?

For those with other industry-specific masters degree, how difficult did you find it to incorporate GIS into the coursework, if at all? 

I'm still pretty new in my GIS career and I'm really trying to figure out whether my next course of action should be a masters in GIS, a masters in the subject I want to eventually work in (for instance, urban planning), or just apply for roles and hope I'll be able to learn on the job.

Thank you in advance for any thoughts.

7 Comments
Logan_Stevens
Esri Contributor

Thank you for posting! I wrote a blog post last year around this topic, check it out! https://community.esri.com/t5/esri-young-professionals-network-blog/gis-advancement-options-for-youn...

I have a master's degree in Geography, so I'll share my perspective on the topic.