Select to view content in your preferred language

What is it like to be a young professional in technology?

08-22-2023 08:50 AM
bbollin
Esri Contributor
3 0 577

My name is Bekah Bollin, and I am a Product Engineer for the ArcGIS Online team. Since starting my position at Esri over a year ago, I have transitioned from a GIS user familiar with Esri software to helping build it. In this blog I’ll share a bit about what it like to work in technology, some of the challenges we face, and a few tips to overcome these obstacles.

Working with the team

I think we can all agree that the workforce has been forever changed by the COVID-19 pandemic. All industries are still facing new and unexpected challenges in the midst of remote work, and this is particularly relevant to the technology industry. ArcGIS Online has a diverse team that is made up of fully remote or hybrid (mix of in-office and remote) employees in different offices, time zones, and countries. Blending all these perspectives is part of what makes our products so rich and comprehensive, however it does require some extra coordination across the team. For instance, some of the projects I have collaborated on include coworkers overseas. With a 6+ hour time difference simply putting a meeting on the calendar can be its own little uphill battle. To coordinate with my coworkers schedules, I try to put meetings on the calendar a few weeks ahead of time and communicate over email and chats whenever possible.