Stand Out To Potential Employers By Creating Your Resume, Portfolio, or Bio Using ArcGIS StoryMaps

01-31-2022 08:00 AM
RosemaryBoone
Esri Regular Contributor
3 0 4,161

As a young professional myself, finding creative ways to “stick out from the rest” to potential employers was always top of mind. This meant having a near perfect resume and cover letter contextually AND visually. This is a lot of pressure! That said, finding creative ways to present your resume, cover letter, portfolio or biography is a necessity. The solution? ArcGIS StoryMaps!  

ArcGIS StoryMaps is an Esri product used to tell remarkable stories incorporating custom maps that inform and inspire. Many students and educators use it as a resource to give presentations instead of the standard PowerPoint, Microsoft Sway, or Prezi.  

Here are a few ways to stick out from the crowd using ArcGIS StoryMaps: 

• Map out your academic journey explaining milestones throughout
  • Create a personal or biographical journey in a visual way
  • Map out your resume, pinpointing various job roles with descriptions, videos and/or images
  • Showcase your portfolio of work from your undergrad, graduate studies, or internships

ArcGIS StoryMaps is increasingly becoming a preferred tool to digitally present information in a storytelling format while illustrating spatial relationships to potential employers. Here are a few benefits: 

• You’ll display your knowledge and use of a web GIS tool to potential employers
  • Demonstrate your creativity by taking a traditional text-based format and transforming it into a digitally, interactive story
  • Provides you the opportunity to share your ideas and concepts through multimedia elements such as maps, videos, pictures, and text
  • Keeps you up to date on the resourcefulness of digital mapping tools

Real Life Examples