Select to view content in your preferred language

My Journey into Remote Sensing for Humanitarian Health

a month ago
bc67392
New Contributor II
8 2 276

My journey into the world of remote sensing and humanitarian health began with a childhood fascination with geography. As a child, I spent countless hours studying maps, memorizing countries, and learning about borders and capitals. This early passion laid the groundwork for my current professional interests.

My name is Becca and I am a recent graduate at Yale University. In this post, I'll explore how my academic pursuits and experiences have cultivated my understanding and passion for remote sensing in humanitarian health.

Merging Public Health and Geography

I earned my Bachelor of Science from Southern Illinois University Edwardsville (SIUE) where I found my dual interests in public health and geography. This led me to major in Public Health and minor in Geographic Information Systems (GIS). During my studies, I took a course in remote sensing and air-photo interpretation that opened my eyes to the vast possibilities of applying remote sensing techniques to public health issues ranging from infectious diseases to humanitarian health. I knew I wanted to continue to learn as much as possible. After graduating from SIUE and working at a local health department for a few years, I decided to enroll in a Master of Public Health with a concentration in Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases at Yale University. 

EMD_ThesisDAy.png

Presenting my thesis at Yale School of Public Health’s Epidemiology of Microbial Diseases Research Day 

Crafting the Thesis