Hard Work Always Pays Off: My GIS Journey

01-03-2023 09:25 AM
MoSaket
Esri Contributor
16 3 1,270

"I am a believer in the saying "Hard work always pays off." Study, learn, and work as hard as you can on your goals, and success will be no accident."

Hi, my name is Mohamed El-Saket, and I am a geographic information system (GIS) solution engineer at ESRI North Africa. I am ESRI certified in ArcGIS Pro Foundation 2101 and Enterprise Geodata Management Professional 2201. I would like to share my GIS story with you, along with what I learned, how I met challenges, and my best advice for you.

How I Started in GIS

In 2016, I found my passion for geography and maps, so I applied to study in the GIS department in the Faculty of Arts at Mansoura University. I learned about the earth and about disasters, climate, sustainability, humans, and the impact of each of them on our world. Then I studied GIS technology, and I mixed the science I learned from books with computer technology. This combination helped me to find the hidden patterns, trends, and relationships that emerge when we visualize and analyze data on a map to solve our most complex problems.

Notable GIS Accomplishments

In 2019, I entered a scientific paper in the GIS Day competition held by Esri North Africa in cooperation with the Bibliotheca Alexandrina. The topic of the paper was "The Role and Importance of GIS in Smart Cities," and despite my young age and being a student, I won first place, outperforming older experts in the field.

MoEbra_0-1672561876066.png