Select to view content in your preferred language

From Classroom Calculus to Student Assistantship Success

Thursday
MaryjaneG
New Contributor II
2 0 131

MaryjaneG_6-1724262285272.jpgWhen I told my parents that I was selected to participate as a student assistant at the 2024 Esri User Conference, the first thing they did was congratulate me. The second thing they did was ask me what Esri even was. Despite being so close to the Esri HQ in Redlands, California, people who do not have a GIS background tend to not know about Esri, myself included (until recently).

Similar to this, when I tell people that I have a bachelor's in mathematics, I receive compliments and acknowledgments on how hard my major must have been. They tell me that they don’t understand my choice of major, but that it's admirable.

My name is Maryjane Guadalajara and I am mathematician who fell in love with data science and GIS.

When asked why I chose mathematics and GIS, my answer is very simple: I love understanding how things work.

Choosing Mathematics As My Academic Journey

My love of math and numbers stems back to my enjoyment of Calculus back in high school. Like any other cool 16-year-old, I decided to take AP Calculus, despite the warnings from my counselor and older peers that it would be difficult. And difficult it was.

This class was the prologue to my math career. Just like any good prologue, it sucked me into its world.

Coming from San Bernardino, California, I didn't attend top tier schools like many of my current peers. Many teachers shoved work at us to memorize without explaining concepts or big ideas that would truly solidify the material in our heads. My calculus teacher, however, taught us the reasoning behind the mathematics.