ArcMap Screen Not Refreshing / Redrawing Properly?

02-28-2019 10:10 AM
Labels (1)
RenoGregory
New Contributor II

Hello, I am just getting started using ArcMap and my screen almost never refreshes properly.

If I make any changes, zoom in or out, pan, etc. the map doesn't update. The only thing that gets it to update is to use the hand tool and wiggle the map slightly and suddenly everything's updated.

The same happens when hitting the redraw button (F5). Only when you wiggle it slightly with the pan tool does it update.

I don't believe this is because my computer is on the slower side. In the corner, it'll say which layers it's redrawing, and it'll go through them pretty quick. But then, the screen never updates with those changes until you wiggle it a bit.

Does anyone know why this might be happening?

Specs:

ArcGIS Desktop 10.4

Windows 10

1.89 GHz Quad Core

8GB RAM

0 Kudos
12 Replies
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

Start a new project, add some data, preferably not data you are currently using... also no online basemap.

Does it exhibit the same behaviour?

trying to rule out existing projects from new project behaviour

0 Kudos
StevenLombardo
New Contributor II

I'm having the same issue and haven't found a solution.  New project, new data, re-installation, an additional 24gb of RAM...no changes.  Have you been able to find a solution?

0 Kudos
DanPatterson_Retired
MVP Emeritus

same version of ArcMap?  I can't find any reference to this behaviour anywhere.  If it were in a different version of ArcMap, then it could be data source type, and location (ie SDE vs locally stored, featureclasses, vs rasters and the list goes on)

0 Kudos
StevenLombardo
New Contributor II