How to prepare for the Developer Summit?

02-10-2018 12:23 PM
Labels (1)
JasonRogers
New Contributor

I am a GIS analyst by trade with a strong background in ArcMap, and now ArcGIS Pro and Portal.  I did take a college course in programing in Python for ArcGIS, but my development/coding experience is limited to simple scripts and the built-in web apps.  I am sure that I'm not the only person who will be attending the conference without a background in development or coding.

What web based courses would you recommend to best spin me up before the conference?

What other resources would you recommend to help prepare?

What seminars during the conference would you recommend to best expose me to the wider platform and how to add development capabilities into our organization?

0 Kudos
1 Reply
RebeccaStrauch__GISP
MVP Emeritus

Hi Jason,

first, you may want to checkout/follow  If You Were a DevSummit Newbie, What Would You Do?   Since there will be some handy tips for the Dev Summit in general.

re: how to prepare.  It sounds like you have some Python programming, at least enough to understand the general syntax (for example, the importance of tabs/spaces for program flow). If not, that might be good to review.

i would recommend looking at some of the proceedings and/videos of previous dev summit or UCs to get a preview of some of the sessions.   Recent Proceedings    There are other ways to view the videos, including videos.esri.com and the Esri channel(s) on YouTube.  Pick a topic that you think you might want to attend and see if there is any topic that make know sense and see if you can at least figure part of that out.