Trouble adding XY data

08-03-2011 11:31 AM
KevinDoyle
New Contributor II
Hello,

I'm a college student just becoming familiar with all of the facets of GIS software. I have a lot to learn so bare with me.  I'm currently doing a project that calls for me to obtain lat/long coordinates from a website.  What I did was right click on the tables shown in the website and exported them to excel.  Now I have my data.  I go into ArcMap to add the XY data. (File>Add Data>Add X,Y data). Once I add my data (excel sheet 1) it comes up in the T.O.C however on the map itself it appears only as one point.  Rather than, oh i dont know, the 200 different points included in the excel table data.  I do not know if it is because I'm not using the right projection or coordinate system or if the points need to be converted into a different format or what. I have never used these forums before so I guess I'm being pretty vague until someone responds to this thread so I know that it works. Someone please help!!! This is my final project for school!! Thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
15 Replies
TimothyHales
Esri Notable Contributor
Hi! Welcome to the ArcGIS Forums.

Could you check a couple things with the new layer that was added?

1. Right click the layer > Open Attribute Table.  The table that opens should be similar to the Excel table.  Here you will see the number of features.  Do you see approximately 200 records?

2. Right click the layer > Zoom to Layer.  Are you able to see more points?  It is possible that you are zoomed so far out that the display generalizes the layer to a single point.

I hope this helps.  Please let me know if you have any other questions.
0 Kudos
KevinDoyle
New Contributor II