Reverse Geocode Geoprocessing Tool

03-09-2011 10:28 AM
NicholasGross
Occasional Contributor II
I am using ArcGIS Desktop 10 SP1 and trying to reverse geocode some tornado sirens. The locator that I want to use is through a published service (by a third party) but I can't figure out how to enter this locator into the "input address locator" field in the "Reverse Geocode" tool's dialog. Whenever I try to browse to it through my "GIS Servers" folder or copy and paste in the web address, I get an error stating that the locator doesn't exist or is not supported. I know this not to be the case because I can connect to it and search for addresses just fine outside of this toolbox tool.

I don't do a lot of geocoding, and I have very little experience working with ArcGIS Server services, so I may definitely be doing something wrong, but I really don't know what. Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks.
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
7 Replies
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus
I keep hearing all these great things about ArcGis 10.x and geocoding.  Gotta give it a try some time...

All serious aside, unless things have radically changed in 10.x from 9.3.x and earlier, you should be able to access the locator from ArcCatalog or ArcMap.  Take a look at this link for ArcCatalog connections.  It's pretty straight forward.

In the good old days of ArcMap 9.3 (which is where I live, work and play) one simply goes to the Tools menu, and selects Geocoding/Address Locator Manager.  Then use the add button to navigate to the connection you've already set up in ArcCatalog. See attached image.

Hope this helps.
That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
NicholasGross
I keep hearing all these great things about ArcGis 10.x and geocoding.  Gotta give it a try some time...

All serious aside, unless things have radically changed in 10.x from 9.3.x and earlier, you should be able to access the locator from ArcCatalog or ArcMap.  Take a look at this link for ArcCatalog connections.  It's pretty straight forward.