Projection problem with 'ASCII to Raster' output

08-24-2012 08:57 AM
steveSuperczynski
New Contributor
Hello all,

I have model data that was converted to a raster from an ASCII file. This dataset covers essentially the eastern 1/3 of the CONUS,  Because this data has a set spatial resolution (12km) I used UTM coordinates and meters for units in the ASCII header.  The problem comes when attempting to project this data. When comparing the model output and a US shapefile, the data does not appear to be projected properly as the coastlines do not match up.  The reference point used to convert the text file is in UTM, however the coordinate system is still unknown.

I am no expert in GIS or map projections by any means, however my thought was that I should define the projection in the UTM zone that the lower-left corner is located (since my starting points were in UTM and my cellsize is in meters).  Does this seem reasonable or is there another step that needs to happen to project the data properly?

Thanks,
Steve
0 Kudos
11 Replies
steveSuperczynski
New Contributor
sorry, forgot to upload a sample .txt file that I have been using. Here it is in a zip file.
0 Kudos
JeffreySwain
Esri Regular Contributor
If your original data was in UTM and you projected the data to a new coordinate system, then did you change datums?  If so did you specify a transformation in the map document?  You may need a transformation specified for the data to line up correctly. Please refer to this blog which discusses how to determine the proper transformation.
0 Kudos
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
Where did you get the data? Is there any information there about the coordinate system or the data's lower left coordinates in any coordinate system? It looks closer to USA Contiguous Albers Equal Area Conic USGS (projected coordinate systems\continental\North America) but you'll need to figure out the coordinates for the lower left corner in that coordinate system.