Preparing scripted setup of ArcSDE in SQL Server 2012

01-22-2014 02:29 PM
MarkWilloughby
New Contributor III
Hello:

I'm setting up a test and development server for ArcSDE with SQL Server 2012. I'm also a total novice DBA. I want to use the SDE_SCHEMA model.

I do not want to use the default storage locations created when using the Create Enterprise Geodatabase tool.

Will the following script be sufficient to use as presetup for the Enable Enterprise Geodatabase tool and ensure that the sde login, user and schema have the required permissions and configuration for proper geodatabase administration?

Also when setting up a connection file to use with Enable Enterprise Geodatabase tool is it best to use sa or sde for username?

USE master;
GO
CREATE DATABASE DEVARCGISSDETEST
ON
( NAME = DEVARCGISSDETEST,
    FILENAME = 'C:\MSSQLData\DEVARCGISSDE\DEVARCGISSDETEST.mdf',
    SIZE = 8192MB,
    FILEGROWTH = 1024MB )
LOG ON
( NAME = DEVARCGISSDETEST_log,
    FILENAME = 'C:\MSSQLLogs\DEVARCGISSDE\DEVARCGISSDETEST_log.ldf',
    SIZE = 8192MB,
    FILEGROWTH = 1024MB );
GO
ALTER AUTHORIZATION ON DATABASE :: DEVARCGISSDETEST TO sa;
GO
CREATE LOGIN sde WITH PASSWORD = '<!1Password!>', CHECK_EXPIRATION=OFF, CHECK_POLICY=ON;
GO
EXEC master..sp_addsrvrolemember @loginame = N'sde', @rolename = N'processadmin'
GO
USE DEVARCGISSDETEST;
GO
CREATE USER sde FOR LOGIN sde;
GO
CREATE SCHEMA sde AUTHORIZATION sde;
GO
ALTER USER sde WITH DEFAULT_SCHEMA = sde;
GO
GRANT CREATE TABLE, CREATE PROCEDURE, CREATE FUNCTION, CREATE VIEW TO sde;
GO
CREATE FULLTEXT CATALOG SDE_DEFAULT_CAT AS DEFAULT AUTHORIZATION sde;
GO

Thanks.....
0 Kudos
3 Replies
WilliamCraft
MVP Regular Contributor
Hello:Also when setting up a connection file to use with Enable Enterprise Geodatabase tool is it best to use sa or sde for username?