Layer not align, HELP!

06-05-2014 04:14 AM
TeikKeanTan
New Contributor
Hi,

I am new in ArcMap. I got a shapefile and a layer file.
I open it in ArcMap and try to align both layer. But both the layer didn't align properly.
Both coordinate system are the same.
Is anyone can help me on this? Greatly Appreciated!
Tags (2)
0 Kudos
12 Replies
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
A shapefile needs at least 3 files (.shp, .dbf, .shx) to be readable. Your archive only includes the .shp file. Sending just a .lyr file doesn't include the data that it's referring to. The layer file does list an extent that looks like Malaysia, probably. The values look like decimal degrees. So that data should have a geographic coordinate system assigned to it. In Malaysia, that could be GDM2000 or an older GCS like Kertau.

If the shapefile isn't overlaying the layer file's data, it's probably in a projected coordinate system, possibly RSO.

Melita
0 Kudos
TeikKeanTan
New Contributor
Thanks for your reply.

I not sure what should i do next, Need your valuable help to assist further.

Thanks
0 Kudos
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
Hi,

If you want people to be able to look at your data, you have to include all the necessary files. The shapefile was missing its .shx and .dbf files, so it could not be opened.

Can you post the extents/coordinates of your shapefile? Plus the location that it should be in? (is it west coast Malaysia?) That may be enough for someone to figure out what its coordinate system is.

Melita
0 Kudos
TeikKeanTan
New Contributor
Thanks Melita.

I attached the related files.

I have change the coordinate system to GDM2000, but it still not working to me. =(

Appreaciated you guidance!
0 Kudos
TeikKeanTan
New Contributor
i was actually trying to plot multiple locations on google map, save it as kml, then convert it to layer, to be displayed in ArcMap, and then layer together with the earlier shapefile.
0 Kudos
MelitaKennedy
Esri Notable Contributor
Hi,