File Geodatabase help?

05-08-2013 07:32 AM
GeospatialTechnology
Deactivated User
Hello,

I've been processing some data in a file geodatabase.

I'm finding the geodatabase to be getting very full of data and increasingly hard to navigate.

I was wondering if there was a way of creating sub folders or sub directories in the geodatabase?

Or would I just be better creating lots of seperate geodatabases depending on the area I'm studying?
0 Kudos
11 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
No, there is no way to create subfolders in file geodatabase -- It's modeled on
RDBMSes, which don't support that concept either.

I've never experienced a FGDB getting "full of data" -- Do you mean tens of
thousands of tables or one table with tens of millions of rows?

- V
0 Kudos
GeospatialTechnology
Deactivated User
No not full of data. There's just a lot of files in there and it's a bit of a pain to navigate.

Don't worry it's just my obsessive compulsive disorder kicking in! 😉

I think I'll make a geodatabase for each area I'm conducting my study in.

Thanks for the help
0 Kudos
MichaelVolz
Esteemed Contributor
You might consider naming your data with schema type names (schemas are supported in RDBMSes).  You could have pseudo schemas such as TRANSPORTATION where you have names such as TRANSPORTATION_AIRPORT or TRANSPORTATION_RDCL or HYDROGRAPHY where you have names such as HYDROGRAPHY_HYDRO_LINE or HYDROGRAPHY_HYDRO_LINE.  I think you would be able to navigate easier with this setup and it coud prepare you for an Enterprise environment where you could import these feature classes (with their schema names) into a RDBMS.  I hope this helps.
0 Kudos
RobertBorchert
Honored Contributor
yes a good method is to create subfolders in your file geodatabase.

In the FGD they are called Feature Dataset

Right click on your FGD and select New > Feature Dataset

Now the Feature Dataset will prompt you for a projection to use.