file and personal geodatabase editing

11-21-2014 01:00 PM
HeatherBrown
New Contributor

I am relatively new to geodatabases.  I have been working with a file geodatabase provided by a consultant; the idea is to take this and make it our own to manage.  I copied the contents of the file geodatabase into another blank file geodatabase as part of testing and learning.  Now I want to clean up the geodatabase: rename features, group features, etc., so that when I pass this out to colleagues it is more succinct and intuitive, but I can't figure out how to make the edits.  In ArcMap I can group and do whatever I want to the geodatabase, but the edits don't carry back to the the actual DB.  I have tried working in ArcCatalog as well.  Sorry, I am sure this is simple for most people on here - thanks for any help you can give me.

Cheers,
Heather

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
Zeke
by
Regular Contributor III

Well, depending on how complex the gdb is, there are a couple of possible options. One is to set up a new, empty gdb with the schema you want - feature datasets, feature classes, fields, etc., then use the Simple Feature Loader to load the data, mapping source fields to your target fields. I frequently use this for smaller projects.

For more complex migrations, you could download the X-Ray for ArcCatalog add-in. I haven't used this much myself, mostly because some of its features require Excel and we use Libre Office here. It has a bigger learning curve, but is also more versatile than the Simple Data Loader.

AndyOmmen
Esri Contributor

Hi Heather,