Editing Vertices

Jump to solution
03-29-2013 08:07 AM
JoshuaBroxson
New Contributor II
Confession: I don't know much about ArcMap 10, I've been dropped into a role where I use it to make maps for our company, but I have very little training or experience with it.

Up until yesterday when I needed to smooth out a polygon, I would select the layer to edit, select the polygon in question, select the Edit Vertices function, and then go to work adding vertices and making changes.

Today, when I go through the same process, the changes won't stick. I'll add some vertices here and there, move things around a little, but when I finish the sketch, some changes stay and others disappear. If I make large adjustments, everything proceeds as per usual. If I make fine adjustments, they disappear and I'm left with the same mess with which I began.

I've perused the forums looking for an answer, and while I've found questions which seem to be the same or at least relate to my own query, I can't make sense of the answers or make them work for me.  I've played with the snapping tolerance, but it doesn't seem to matter what I set it at, the problem persists.

I can't remember adjusting anything, or changing any settings.  I'm the only person who uses this workstation, so I don't think anyone else has changed anything. Just one day it worked one way, the next day it works another.

Please help.

Thanks,

Josh
Tags (2)
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JakeSkinner
Esri Esteemed Contributor
What is your XY tolerance for the feature class you are editing?  You can check by right-clicking on the feature class in the catalog window > Properties > Tolerance.  You will want to make sure that you are not entering a distance smaller than what the tolerance is set to. 

The XY tolerance is the minimum distance between coordinates before they are considered equal.  See the following link:

http://resources.arcgis.com/en/help/main/10.1/index.html#//003n00000005000000

View solution in original post