Data Scrubbing Addresses

09-02-2016 08:45 AM
BrandonPowell1
Occasional Contributor

This is my first ever post in GeoNet and I am new to the GIS field.

One of my first assignments is to geocode all of our customer locations in ArcMap. The task seems simple enough, but I need the data to be clean first. Are there any recommended tools to clean up the addresses? How do I know they are accurate? Etc..

0 Kudos
16 Replies
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

If you haven't already done so, I'd recommend looking at both the Geocoding process and your address data to get a feel for how it all fits together.  In particular, pay attention to how the data is broken out into fields in your data. 

Check the Help of the Version of the software you have.  Here's some older Help information in the same vein:

Geocoding - ArcGIS Desktop 10.0

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=3&sqi=2&ved=0ahUKEwi7nKD-iPHOAhVIVWMKH... 

Hopefully folks can share some tools that may help.

Adding Addressing Address Points 

Chris Donohue, GISP

ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

Some questions to better help the GeoNet community provide answers for you:

• What GIS software are you using for geocoding?  ArcGIS?  ArcGISPro?  ArcGIS Online? Another?
  • What version?
  • Does your organization use the Local Government Information Model (LGIM)?

Also, let me tag a specific addressing troublemaker expert jborgion .  Joe does 911 addressing and I believe address scrubbing is a normal part of his work as he pulls together addressing data from several sources.  If he is free and sees this, I bet he has some good leads.  Though the Black SUV full of National Addressing Standards police may have finally caught up with him.... 

Chris Donohue, GISP

0 Kudos
BrandonPowell1
Occasional Contributor

Thanks Chris.

I'm using ArcGIS and ArcGIS Online

Version 10.4.1

I have to be honest I'm not sure if we use LGIM or not, so I'm leaning towards a no. Like I said, I'm very new to this.