Choosing between a Single or Many Geodatabaes

04-29-2013 04:21 AM
ShaharLevenson
New Contributor III
Hello all,

I've been thinking about the "right" way to work with geodatabases:

I'm a GIS analyst and my everyday work consists of delivering different GIS products (Maps, Geographic calculations, etc.) for different projects. The data for the products also comes from different sources.

I am currently making a file geodatabase for each product that contains the results and the temporary layers. That FGDB resides within a project-specific folder that also contains the MXD file and other files needed for the product (Excel files, Images, etc.)

Wouldn't it be more efficient to put all the products for all the projects in one large FGDB, divided into Feature Datasets?
How big can a FGDB get before the performance starts to decline?
I also have access to an Oracle geodatabase (using ArcSDE). Would that be a better choice?

I'm curios to know what you think.

Thanks,
Shahar.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
If you're going to use file geodatabase, then you'd be better off sticking with the
one FGDB per project paradigm.  File geodatabases get corrupted from time to
time, so isolating the FGDBs isolates the risk as well.

Shifting to an ArcSDE geodatabase would increase both capability and complexity.
If you don't have a need for versioned editing, then its unlikely that the increase
in complexity (database management overhead, backups, etc) will be worth it.

Feature datasets exist for cooperative editing operations, not as a container
for grouping project data.  It is always a bad idea to lump data that needn't
be edited together in feature datasets.

- V
0 Kudos
VinceAngelo
Esri Esteemed Contributor
Different situations may produce different answers.  I don't have a clear
enough understanding of your requirements to make a suggestion.

- V
0 Kudos
ZacharyHart
Occasional Contributor III
Hello all,