annotations in geodatabase

06-23-2013 02:07 AM
LizaGrits
New Contributor II
Hi,

I'm new in geodatabase and I need help. I built geodatabase with one feature class that contains only geometry and ID, and some INFO tables that contain information about the feature. The geodatabase has relationship classes, and with the help of Add Join tool I get the layer I need - feature class with all the actual information. (I see that when I use Join Field instead Add Join, the information is not being updated automatically from INFO tables).

Now, I want to create the feature-linked Annotation Feature Class, and to use data from tables in it, not only ID that is stored in feature class. How can I solve it?
0 Kudos
3 Replies
WilliamMortimer
New Contributor III
Hi,

I'm new in geodatabase and I need help. I built geodatabase with one feature class that contains only geometry and ID, and some INFO tables that contain information about the feature. The geodatabase has relationship classes, and with the help of Add Join tool I get the layer I need - feature class with all the actual information. (I see that when I use Join Field instead Add Join, the information is not being updated automatically from INFO tables).

Now, I want to create the feature-linked Annotation Feature Class, and to use data from tables in it, not only ID that is stored in feature class. How can I solve it?

Hi There,
Its better to create a field of the same name from your INFO table in your  feature class layer eg Label in INFO table is 'Descript' then create a field in your Feature class called 'Descript' etc. That way you can generate your labels and then your annotation from it (ie from the FC layer not  the INFO table). Ideally your labels will come from 1 field. That way if you need to update the labels/annotation you can with a 'field calc' type function. It would be even better if you created domains in your GDB. To update them you could use a table to domain update etc. Hope this helps.

William.