Select to view content in your preferred language

What is the simplest way of printing a map as a reference so I can create a hand-drawn map in its place?

09-24-2015 09:59 AM
LucyHG_Solomon
Deactivated User

I am an artist and new to interactive map-making.  I want to create a custom map to use as a layer, but I want to do it in the most efficient, tech-savy way.  So, my questions are:

Is there a way to download and print the base layer so that I draw accurate proportions, etc?

Is there a site where I can find image specifics, pixel dimension recommendations, format, size?

Is there potentially a step-by-step guide for doing what I would like to do?

To recap, I want to take the world map that is in Arc GIS, print it and design my own map based on those dimensions.  I then want to scan in my drawing and apply that to my map as a layer.

I appreciate any help or links!  Thank you!

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
DarrenWiens2
MVP Honored Contributor

I'm not sure I follow, but here's a starting point:

Printing (put map on paper): ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

Georeferencing (put scanned paper on map): ArcGIS Help (10.2, 10.2.1, and 10.2.2)

0 Kudos
ChrisDonohue__GISP
MVP Alum

The best way to accomplish your goal will depend upon several variables.  Some considerations:

1.  Is your basemap vector or raster?  If it is vector, see #3.

2.  Is the scale known for your basemap?  Is the basemap in a projected coordinate system?  Since you want to keep in with accurate proportions, it will be important that the information be in a projected coordinate system (and it may not be currently).