How do I get my CAD data to project correctly without georeferencing?

10-01-2020 01:23 PM
LaurenConnor
New Contributor II

Hi All,

Okay, so total newbie when it comes to working with .dwg files, but I am about to throw my computer out a window and would love some guidance!

I have received .dwg files with the land surveyor report that gives me the information about the coordinate datum as well as the 'equation' on how to convert state plane to project coordinates. 

First: Is that actually an equation? If not, what is the translation. 

Second: No matter what combination of numbers I try, I just simply can't get the polyline to display in the correct location (working with State Plane Colorado Central). 

I probably did a poor job explaining this but I am happy to dive into it further. Please send help! 🙂

Thank you!

#cad to gis conversion issues#arcgis for cad#cad data

0 Kudos
18 Replies
LaurenConnor
New Contributor II

Thanks for the extra suggestions Jessie, the CAD data is on a modified State plane (Colorado Central). I think my next step is changing the Easting and Northing to have everything line up correctly, but I just can't figure out those numbers. 

StephenHaney
New Contributor II

Lauren,

I am attempting the exact same thing today.  My .dwg files had no spatial reference when given to me. I went in, as stated earlier, added my known project feature class to a blank map and walked through ESRI's process of moving the the .dwg file to the project file location by changing (adding to) the false easting values. Note: Prior to this I had to open the data frames coordinate system tab and rename the projection file. Apparently if you don't do this it can cause issues.  So...after all that the .dwg file did not budge, so I am obviously missing a step. Thanks for throwing this out to the masses. Let's see what help is out there.

LaurenConnor
New Contributor II

Hi Stephen,