Select to view content in your preferred language

Centroid and beginning/ending vertices (nodes) with Arcade (and other questions)

Jump to solution
02-02-2022 03:24 PM
ToddFagin
Frequent Contributor

Greetings Attribute Rules community.

Though a long-time GIS user, I am new to both Attribute Rules and Arcade.

I have what I believe to be a fairly simply problem and hope someone can help.

I have a colleague who would like me to develop a field map for her that includes a linear feature called transects. She then needs to derive the starting vertex X,Y, centroid X,Y, and ending vertex X,Y of the newly created feature. I figured that an attribute rule that automatically calculates it would be great.

The centroid rule seemed pretty easy--Round(Centroid($feature).X, 6) and Round(Centroid($feature).Y, 6) to calculate the X and Y centroids, respectively. Hurray. Well, no.

It works, but it appears to be calculating the centroid for the boundary geometry of the feature rather than the actual centroid of the linear feature (i.e. actually a point ON the line). Suggestions?

As for the beginning and ending vertices X,Y, I am at a loss. I can use something like Round(Geometry($feature).Y, 6) to find the coordinate of a point, but how can I implement this for a vertex in a line or polygon?

Lastly, and this is more philosophical, I suppose. Is there a way to calculate a spatial relationship with Arcade? (Again, being new to this, this may be a no brainer). For instance, if I plot a point that is within the geometry of a polygon, I would like to do some equivalent of a spatial join to assign the point attribute(s) from the polygon.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
JohannesLindner
MVP Frequent Contributor

It works, but it appears to be calculating the centroid for the boundary geometry of the feature rather than the actual centroid of the linear feature (i.e. actually a point ON the line). Suggestions?