Select to view content in your preferred language

Populate a list by location

12-13-2010 03:25 PM
RonRioux
Emerging Contributor
Hi,

I am very new to customizing ArcPad but I was thinking that it would be very useful to have a list in a form populate by what's located nearby.  For instance, if I were near a certain address when I open the list to select from it there are only addresses that are within a certain radius; not every address in a neighborhood.  Does anyone know if this would be possible?  If so, what would I start to look at to figure out how to do this?

Ron
Tags (3)
0 Kudos
2 Replies
EricHajek1
Regular Contributor
The scripting functions exposed to ArcPad don't make this very easy, but I guess it would be possible. (Worth it? I don't know)

You're able to access the Extent of the screen, which is a Rectangle object.
You're able to break all features down into thier composite parts. (Polygon / Polyline / Points / Parts / Point objects)
You're able to check if a point is in the Rectangle using the Rectangle object's IsPointIn method.

So, theoretically, you could break every point in every layer down into thier composite parts, run those points against the Extent of the map (perhaps + some buffer amount), and from there, traverse the object's structure back up to the point where you could access its attributes. This is really clunky and brute-force, probably not feasible if youre on a handheld GPS device as opposed to a tablet / laptop.