Problem with disappearing class extension.

06-14-2011 04:59 AM
MarcindDekiert
New Contributor
Hi all,

my English isn't very good, but I hope you will understand me 🙂
I'm quite new in ESRI tools, ArcObject's and so on. At this moment we (at work) started changing ArcGis 9.3 to 10. Everything has been OK so far. But now there is one problem - Class Extension. Adding and removing I've done, but... not really. Let me explain this:
I log in and then I use my command button to add (I use IClassSchemaEdit2.AlterClassExtensionCLSID() method) class extansion to selected tables. I verify that and there is what I added. But problem begins when I turn off ArcCatalog and then I turn it on once again. All added Class extansions disappeared! Why? In ArcGIS 9.3 it was easier, because one insert into appropirate table and class extension is remembered.

PS.
With Workspace Extension there aren't any problems like with Class Extension.
0 Kudos
3 Replies
SandhyaYamarthi
New Contributor
Hi all,

my English isn't very good, but I hope you will understand me 🙂
I'm quite new in ESRI tools, ArcObject's and so on. At this moment we (at work) started changing ArcGis 9.3 to 10. Everything has been OK so far. But now there is one problem - Class Extension. Adding and removing I've done, but... not really. Let me explain this:
I log in and then I use my command button to add (I use IClassSchemaEdit2.AlterClassExtensionCLSID() method) class extansion to selected tables. I verify that and there is what I added. But problem begins when I turn off ArcCatalog and then I turn it on once again. All added Class extansions disappeared! Why? In ArcGIS 9.3 it was easier, because one insert into appropirate table and class extension is remembered.

PS.
With Workspace Extension there aren't any problems like with Class Extension.

Hi,
I too work with ClassExtensions but your reported problem sounds weird. Can you post your code that you are using to install the class extension?