how to enumerate through a Polyline

Jump to solution
10-10-2013 03:58 AM
MichaelEber
Occasional Contributor
I have two points on a hydrography layer which we want the distance.  Originally it was a simple call in the Military layer but since that was pulled in 10.1 I'm taking this approach:

I'm planning on using one of the spatial functions passing the start point and end point.  The one function I found returns a PolyLine with the line having a 'value of 3 if it is a single connection'.

I want to "walk" through that polyline adding up the connections to get the total distance.  I'm new to ArcGIS and their lack of documentation for developers.  How do I enumerate through that polyline to a) find that line and b) is it correct to assume that once I know the resolution that adding up the number of cells with the value of 3 will give me the distance via n*res.  If I can pull out the collection of points can I use the lat/long to compute this?
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
NeilClemmons
Regular Contributor III
Maybe I'm missing something but IPolyline has a Length property that returns the length of the line.  Is this not what you're looking for?

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
7 Replies
DuncanHornby
MVP Notable Contributor
Mike,

I'm not really understanding your question, may be you could upload an image sketching out what you are asking? Anyway if you are asking to "walk" along a polyline a segment at a time then you would cast your polyline into an ISegmentCollection interface and then enumerate the segments. If you have a bunch of points that you want to know the distance along a polyline they are the IPolyline has a method QueryPointAndDistance.

Duncan
0 Kudos
MichaelEber
Occasional Contributor
Given the following scenario (see attached image) I think it is called the CostDistance which returns the PolyLine.
(assumed to be represented by the red line in the drawing)