Help with Combobox and layer select

11-02-2011 11:45 AM
RaymondGoins
Occasional Contributor
I am not sure if this is in the right place. I could not find a forum for Visual Basic. Please move if need be.

I am new to VBA I am trying to write some code which accesses external data in an oracle database and populates an attribute in one of my layers. I am having an issue checking to make sure the correct layer is selected. I do not want to have to select a feature then also select the layer in the TOC. Here is my current code
Sub SYNC_SVC_LOC()

Dim dnn As New ADODB.Connection
        dnn.Open "Provider=msdaora;" & _
            "Data Source=cstard;" & _
            "User Id=xxxxx;" & _
            "Password=xxxxxx"

Dim pDoc As IMxDocument
    Dim pMap As IMap
    Dim pClass As IFeatureClass
    Dim pLayer As IFeatureLayer
    Dim pFSel As IFeatureSelection
    Dim pfeat As IFeature
    Dim pSelSet As ISelectionSet
    Dim pCur As IFeatureCursor

'Get the current map
    Set pDoc = ThisDocument
    Set pMap = pDoc.FocusMap

Dim pEnumfeat As IEnumFeature
    Set pEnumfeat = pMap.FeatureSelection

Dim pEnumLayer As IEnumLayer
    Set pEnumLayer = pMap.Layers

Set pLayer = pEnumLayer.Next

Set pfeat = pEnumfeat.Next
       Do Until pfeat Is Nothing
        Dim StopNumber As String
        StopNumber = pfeat.Value(pfeat.Fields.FindField("STOP_NUMBER"))
        Dim SQLStr As String
        SQLStr = "select sl.sloc_stat, sl.sloc_stat_dt, sl.sloc_strt_nm, sl.sloc_strt_sfx, sl.sloc_suite, sl.sloc_city, sl.sloc_state, sl.sloc_zip, sl.sloc_zip_pl4, sl.sloc_svc_loc_nbr, sl.sloc_dwelling_cd, sl.sloc_bldg_nbr from cstar_prod.svc_loc sl where sl.sloc_stop_number = '" & StopNumber & "'"

Dim rs As ADODB.RecordSet
        Set rs = New ADODB.RecordSet

rs.Open SQLStr, dnn
        While Not rs.EOF
        SlStat = "I"
        SlDate = rs(1)
        SlSt = rs(2)
        SlStFx = rs(3)
        SlSuite = rs(4)
        SlCity = rs(5)
        SlState = rs(6)
        SlZip = rs(7)