Closing / Ending a mxd

01-07-2013 05:14 AM
MichelleCouden1
Occasional Contributor III
I have a dialog box with a cancel button on it. I want the whole mxd to close down when they click on the Cancel button. My button is written as such :

Private Sub cmdCancel_Click()
End

End Sub

What do I type to close the mxd???
0 Kudos
19 Replies
MichelleCouden1
The mxd has loaded. You open an mxd to get the dialog box. So hitting the cancel button should close the mxd that is open at that time. Called UserForm1.mxd!!!
0 Kudos
MichelleCouden1
I am trying to understand. I am new to ArcObjects the language is different then VBA. When you open an mxd to get the dialog box, I am not understanding why when you hit the cancel button it can't close that mxd.
0 Kudos
NeilClemmons
Regular Contributor III
I don't know how to explain it other than to repeat what I've already said.  The OpenDocument event fires when a document is opened.  Inside this event, you are calling your form.  You cannot close ArcMap or load another document from this form because ArcMap is already in the process of opening a document.  I have tested this and each time I try it I get an Access Denied error.  If you want to close ArcMap or load another document then you will have to do it from somewhere other than the OpenDocument event.

Also, ArcObjects is not a language.  The language you are using is VBA.  It's important to tell others this when asking a question because the vast majority of the people on this forum do not use VBA.  They use a .NET language, C++ or Java.  How you do things can vary greatly depending on your programming environment so telling people what environment you're using will get you a correct answer much faster.
0 Kudos
MichelleCouden1
I got it. Thanks again for your help!!!! Hey, since your experienced in ArcObjects could you help me with another button code. Really, I just need proper command to get to a folder than open an mxd. I am using If then statements such as this :