ArcSDEWorkspace Factory

11-04-2011 10:37 AM
MakindeFalade
New Contributor
I am relatively new to ArcObjects or I should say I haven't done this in a while.  I am trying to edit an sde table within a Map document but can't seem to find any examples of how to do this the way i want.  Basically, i have reference to the table in the map document via the IActiveView ITableCollection interface.  I need to edit/create rows to the table.  I need help in starting an edit session without having to specify IpropertySet properties.  I guess what I am driving at is to be able to somehow know the SdeWorkspaceFactory from the table in the map document.  I have tried creating the SdeWorkspaceFactory but keep getting "Sde not running on Server" error. 

I would like something like these rather than what i have below.

ITableCollection tableCollection = activeView as ITableCollection;
ITable mappingTable = tableCollection.get_Table(0);

IWorkspace wkspc = mappingTable.workspace // IS IT SOMEHOW POSSIBLE TO GET THE WORKSPACE FROM THE TABLE OR LAYER/FEATURECLASS?

---------------------------------------------------------
THIS IS WHAT I CURRENTLY HAVE

Type factoryType = Type.GetTypeFromProgID("esriDataSourcesGDB.SdeWorkspaceFactory");
            IWorkspaceFactory workspaceFactory = (IWorkspaceFactory)Activator.CreateInstance(factoryType);

// Create a property set and populate it with connection properties.
            IPropertySet propertySet = new PropertySetClass();
            propertySet.SetProperty("SERVER", System.Configuration.ConfigurationSettings.AppSettings["SERVER"]);
            propertySet.SetProperty("INSTANCE", System.Configuration.ConfigurationSettings.AppSettings["INSTANCE"]);
            propertySet.SetProperty("DATABASE", System.Configuration.ConfigurationSettings.AppSettings["DATABASE"]);
            propertySet.SetProperty("USER", System.Configuration.ConfigurationSettings.AppSettings["USER"]);