Could not add the specified file(s) to the map. The document type is not supported for drag and drop.

10-26-2020 01:07 PM
EnricoNardone
New Contributor

I was recently provided with raw data by a colleague to add to an exiting map I have. The data he sent me are in various formats from .dat, .nit, .dir, .adf. I am unable to download them onto my esri account and ArcMap will not let me drag and drop the files. If someone could help me figure out how to get this data on to my map it would be greatly appreciate. I'm not sure if I have to convert these files or not? I am pretty new to this software. I also have ArcGIS Pro if that's easier to use for this.

For context, the original email reads,

"just sent you an invite to a gdrive folder that contains a raster of our 'predictive habitat map'. it is a raster, where each cell represents the amount of forest or grassland (ie, undeveloped greenspace) in a 14km2 window around that cell.

I projected it to a large area you will likely want to trim it down some for the li map

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
DavinWalker2
Esri Contributor

Hi Enrico,

The Raster to other Format (Conversion) tool should be able to help you out. The ESRI documentation for the tool is here. Raster To Other Format (Conversion)—ArcGIS Pro | Documentation 

Hope it helps.

EnricoNardone
New Contributor