Web AppBuilder Get Coordinates Widget

12-04-2020 12:19 PM
Labels (1)
KathrynWesson
New Contributor III

I would love to see a simple widget that populates user-specified fields with the coordinates of a point feature layer. Something that looks like this:

tempsnip.png

The Smart Editor widget can batch calculate the coordinates of features, but it seems there are a lot of hoops to jump through! Not to mention it's a configuration that can only be set up by the author of the application.

Apologies if this idea already exists!

5 Comments
AlixVezina

Hi Kathryn,

Thank you for sharing this idea!

Please would you be able to describe more on how you would like to use this widget? What is the problem you are trying to solve? Please provide as many details as possible on your use case so we can consider this capability in future development.

Thank you! 🙂

KathrynWesson

@AlixVezina , in my position as a DOT GIS Analyst, I set up a lot of datasets in ArcMap that I then publish to AGOL for our contractors and engineers (some who have minimal GIS experience) to take over and manage autonomously both in the office and out in the field.

A common method of identifying places along a road in this industry is with a Mileage Reference Marker + Displacement system, which we can derive using XY data. Unfortunately, I don’t find the existing options of getting coordinates across any of the platforms intuitive at all. It requires a lot of background setup or diving several steps into a widget to update and refresh the geometry. I would prefer a widget equivalent of right-clicking a field in ArcMap and using the Calculate Geometry tool.