Interactive samples / addin question

Jump to solution
04-30-2012 07:25 AM
KarenEllett
Occasional Contributor
I'd like to take the functionality shown in the interactive samples and create an addin for the silverlight viewer.  For example, the bookmark sample.  Is it as simple as using the code shown in the samples, building, and importing the .xap as an addin?  Or is there a lot more involved?  I'm a total newbie with this, so forgive my ignorance!

I should add that I've attempted to do this, but when I upload the .xap file, there are no tools shown; hence my question.  Thanks!
0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
KatherineDalton
Esri Regular Contributor
Hi Karen,

You are correct, you can't take a sample directly from the ArcGIS API for Silverlight and add it to the Viewer. But since the Viewer is built on top of the ArcGIS API for Silverlight, you can still look to those samples for direction and ideas. One (of many) of the fundamental differences is the Map. When creating your own SL Application, you often declare the Map in xaml, but in the Viewer, the Map already exists.

Technically I suppose you could use the Bookmark (from the Toolkit) as they do in the SLAPI, but the problem is that any bookmarks the end user of your Viewer application creates would be gone as soon as they close the browser. None of the bookmarks they create would persist from session to session. The only way to set bookmarks that persist is to do it from the Builder side of things.

Hope that helps,
Katy
Katy Dalton | Technical Consultant
THE SCIENCE OF WHERE™

View solution in original post

0 Kudos
6 Replies
KatherineDalton
Esri Regular Contributor
Hi Karen,

It sounds like you have the steps right. Once you have uploaded the Add-In in Builder, click Add Tools on the Tools tab and I believe you should see the Bookmarks sample under the Map category.