auto populate information from a shapefile uploaded to survey123 online

10-22-2018 04:05 PM
NathanDulfon
New Contributor III

survey123‌

Survey123 Geonet

arcgis‌

ArcGIS Online

I am trying to auto populate information from a shapefile I uploaded to arcgis/survey123.com into my survey123 forms based on the geopoint location.... 

more specifically I have a shapefile of grazing allotments on the Manti-La Sal National forest and am building a survey in survey123 connect.... I want to auto populate the allotment name in the survey form based on the geopoint....

do I use pulldata() ???

I am new to survey123 and just need a little guidance... I know that I will need the url for the shapefile from arcgis/survey123.com... and I just don't know how to setup the calculation in my xlsform...

Any help is great!!

0 Kudos
5 Replies
JamesTedrick
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Nathan,

Currently, Survey123 does support a point-in-polygoin lookup.  This can be done with a beta feature (custom JS function) - you can find out more at the Early Adopter Community.

0 Kudos
NathanDulfon
New Contributor III

I looked up the "beta feature" but I have no clue how to do this as I am a newbie to survey123.... It would be much easier to have an example to follow.... 

I appreciate your response! and thank you!

0 Kudos
JamesTedrick
Esri Esteemed Contributor

Hi Nathan,

The example survey file with the document provides the basics - the main effort would be to replace the query setup to be based on a value instead of a location. Query (Feature Service/Layer)—ArcGIS REST API: Services Directory | ArcGIS for Developers provides documentation - you would be revising the where parameter to do the query.

0 Kudos
NathanDulfon
New Contributor III

James... you are a GIS rockstar!

and way above my knowledge level...

however I am figuring out how to autopopulate certain questions with the answer of other questions in the form....