Has something changed with licensing / API key? Maps don't show even on sample code

09-21-2022 11:49 AM
FortressTech
New Contributor

Howdy,

I've been building an app for a few years now and it has been utilizing the older versions of the Windows WPF SDK up until recently. In changing some code in the model view over to use the newer BasemapStyle model, my map shows no detail - only a black screen. 

I've gone as far as downloading the sample apps and tried running the simplest of all and it displays just a white background with "Powered by ESRI" in the lower right corner.

Did ESRI implement a different SDK key/licensing setup?

Old code: (Displays correctly

[Obsolete]
private Map _map = new Map(BasemapType.StreetsNightVector, _defaultLat, _defaultLon, _defaultZoom)
{
MinScale = Configs.MaxZoomOutScale,
MaxScale = Configs.MaxZoomInScale
};

New code: (Shows black screen, nothing else)

_map = new Map(BasemapStyle.ArcGISStreetsNight);

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
MichaelBranscomb
Esri Frequent Contributor

Hi,

The basemaps in the BasemapStyle Enum are the new developer basemaps. You enable your access to them by creating and managing your developer API keys in your ArcGIS Developer dashboard, or alternatively by authenticating with an ArcGIS Identity. Essentially the services need a token to enable access, that is either in the form of an API Key that you set via the API, or a token that's automatically appended to requests after you enable users to authenticate with their ArcGIS identity.

For more info see:

Release notes for 100.10 | ArcGIS Runtime API for .NET | ArcGIS Developers

API keys | Documentation | ArcGIS Developers

Thanks

0 Kudos
FortressTech
New Contributor

Thanks, Michael.

I found that the problem is actually related to *when* the API key is supplied.