How To Create Map View without XAML in ArcGIS Runtime for .NET?

05-19-2017 12:37 AM
Data_Integra_DinamikaDID
New Contributor

Hallo, everybody, I am new in ArcGIS. I need your help. I have a problem when I try to create MapView without XAML. I use ArcGIS Runtime for.NET 10.2.7. All of the tutorials always create it within XAML. But in my condition, I have to create the MapView in my Library, not within XAML. Is there anybody can help me, please?

I have tried to create a map view without XAML. But when I use the ScreenToLocation method based on it, the result always NULL. Is it mean the map view doesn't create, right?

0 Kudos
5 Replies
dotMorten_esri
Esri Notable Contributor

You cannot use ScreenToLocation until the MapView control is Loaded and presented on the UI tree. Just instantiating a MapView doesn't "activate" it. It must be added to the visual view in your app.

Why do you not want to use XAML? You can still use XAML in libraries by exposing Controls and UserControls to be included in the app. If a library does not expose things as controls or user controls, they really shouldn't be creating visual elements. It's really the responsibility of the app and not the library to create visual elements (but of course you can have a class library expose custom controls that the app will instantiate and render)

0 Kudos
Data_Integra_DinamikaDID
New Contributor

Thank you for your answer Mr.Morten Nielsen,