How to convert or export ArcGIS REST API Route service result to desktop mapping format?

12-10-2018 03:22 AM
ChristopherZapp
New Contributor II

I am successful in getting results from ArcGIS REST API Route service using simple parameters (two points; x&y) but the resulting json is not in a format easily readable in desktop format. When I try to convert to shp or other format (in ArcMap or online tool), I receive parsing error as the resulting json is not similar to other json outputs I've encountered. I'm curious if anyone has had success converting or exporting Route service results into desktop mapping format. Below documentation I have been following (apologies in advance- I am not a developer/coder):

Get a route and directions | ArcGIS for Developers 

Route service with synchronous execution—ArcGIS REST API: Directions and Routing Services | ArcGIS f... 

Route service with asynchronous execution—ArcGIS REST API: Directions and Routing Services | ArcGIS ... 

Moreover, I am interested if anyone has had success using a feature service URL as parameter stops for this request. Please provide useful steps or hints as ESRI documentation is very simple (i.e. do field names of feature service need to be named specifically, etc.).

Thanks!

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
4 Replies
KonstantinKutsner
New Contributor

The solution depends on the ultimate goal... but let's say you can use "Route service with asynchronous execution", Then, there is a parameter "save_route_data" (Route service with asynchronous execution—ArcGIS REST API: Directions and Routing Services | ArcGIS ...). The generated zip file will contain File Geodatabase that will contain all route data.