Problem with Arcade Expression to Symbolize Field Differences

08-17-2020 02:44 PM
LindsaySpencer
New Contributor III

Ok GIS-ers. I am relatively new to Arcade, so please be kind!  I feel like I have been looking at this for way too long, and because of that I have likely been overlooking something incredibly simple...but I just can't figure this out! Help!?!?

Goal: To symbolize field data by whether or not it has been edited. Editor Tracking and Sync are ON

Approach: Use the difference between the $feature.CreationDate (when i published the data) and $feature.EditDate (this will be identical to CreationDate UNLESS the data has been edited) as the key to creating this symbology. I do have several data points that have been edited on different occasions, and therefore their EditDate and CreationDate attributes are different (verified this in table and in Console function).

Expression 1 & 2: Returns everything as 'Not Visited'

if ($feature.Creator != $feature.Editor){
var Status = "Visited"
return Status
}
else {
return "Not Visited"
}

if (DateDiff($feature.CreationDate,$feature.EditDate,"minutes")<=0){
return "Not Visited";
}
else{
return "Visited";
}

Not Separated

Expression 3 & 4: Only 'Not Visited' features were symbolized, 'Visited' features were clumped into 'Other'

Iif($feature.CreationDate != $feature.EditDate, "Visited", "Not Visited")

When($feature.CreationDate != $feature.EditDate, "Visited", "Not Visited")

Not Rendered

There are about 4 more ways I went about trying to create these 2 separate symbols based off of the creator and editor dates, but each one of them resulted in 1 of these 2 results. Additionally, I made sure the expression was reading the correct fields and the correct data types, as I printed them to the console and they are exactly as they should be. 

Any help on this would be appreciated! I feel like it should be such a simple solution, but I cannot figure it out!

Thank you!

0 Kudos
4 Replies
XanderBakker