Encountering WashedOut Colors exporting Layout in 2.5 to PDF through code

02-27-2020 07:33 AM
ThomasCox
Occasional Contributor

I am encountering a problem when exporting a layout to a pdf through code at 2.5. The output pdf colors are seriously washed out. The same code has successfully worked in prior Pro Versions. The code itself, is quite simple and in fact was mostly lifted from ESRI. If I export the layout interactively through Pro itself, the output PDF is correct and does not have the washed out effect.

I understand at 2.5 'Color Management' has been introduced. I have not touched any of those settings in Pro so it is running in 'default' mode. However, in code I notice the PDFFormat object has the property 'HasColorProflile'. In code I test this value and it returns true that the PDFFormat does have a color profile. As I am new to the 'Color Management'
bit, I am not sure if this is related to this or not.

I have looked at the available methods for the PDFFormat object and have not found anything that appears to allow me to intervene.

Regardless, the output I am getting is not correct. The attachments illustrate the problem:

Any input would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
18 Replies
ThomasCox
Occasional Contributor

My apologies for not reading your last response more carefully regarding checking the layout's color management  properties rather than the project's.  Once again I ran the application twice, one time with project cm set to enabled and once with cm disabled.  I have included some screen shots showing the layout's cm.  In both instances, the layout CM is set to the RGB Color Model.  

The first screen shot shows the washed out look of the layout in Pro with the Project CM Enabled.  This results in the washed out PDF export result.

The second screen shot shows the fully saturated layout in Pro with the Project CM disabled.

The layout CM properties in both instances are the same.

The PDF output from both carries the washed out look.