Encountering WashedOut Colors exporting Layout in 2.5 to PDF through code

02-27-2020 07:33 AM
ThomasCox
Occasional Contributor

I am encountering a problem when exporting a layout to a pdf through code at 2.5. The output pdf colors are seriously washed out. The same code has successfully worked in prior Pro Versions. The code itself, is quite simple and in fact was mostly lifted from ESRI. If I export the layout interactively through Pro itself, the output PDF is correct and does not have the washed out effect.

I understand at 2.5 'Color Management' has been introduced. I have not touched any of those settings in Pro so it is running in 'default' mode. However, in code I notice the PDFFormat object has the property 'HasColorProflile'. In code I test this value and it returns true that the PDFFormat does have a color profile. As I am new to the 'Color Management'
bit, I am not sure if this is related to this or not.

I have looked at the available methods for the PDFFormat object and have not found anything that appears to allow me to intervene.

Regardless, the output I am getting is not correct. The attachments illustrate the problem:

Any input would be appreciated.

0 Kudos
18 Replies
ThomasCox
Occasional Contributor

I have checked the attachments and the 2.5 Version does not reflect the 'washed out' look I am getting.  Not sure why it is not rendering the same once I post it to this forum.

Hopefully this screen shot render properly and  illustrate what I am encountering.

0 Kudos
JeremyWright
Esri Regular Contributor

Thomas,

What application (and version) are you viewing the export PDF in where it appears washed out?

Regards,

Jeremy W.

0 Kudos
ThomasCox
Occasional Contributor

Hi Jeremy,

Thanks for your inquiry.

On the machine where I am running Pro 2.4 where everything works, I am running Adobe Acrobat Version 11.0.23