Select to view content in your preferred language

Custom item to add a plugin source not working

11-03-2022 08:03 AM
newbiedotnetguy
New Contributor III

Hi,

I am a new to ArcGIS Pro. In this question I will not add much code. Just wanted a suggestion to get hold of one issue.

I have an existing code base in which I am adding an AddIn and Plugin data source for new file extension. But when adding a folder connection to the new file extension I am not able to see that file after expanding the folder.

Interestingly following are my different findings:

1. This issue is coming when Configuration is set as a startup project. When I am directly setting the new AddIn as a startup project the same issue is not coming.

2. Since issue is coming in an existing codebase when I am creating new project from the scratch having the same structure as the existing one the issue is not coming.

3. In both of the scenarios I can see the new addin the ArcGis Pro folder getting generated. Its not that new addin is not getting generated.

I tried different combinations to check the issue but couldnt find any root cause. 

I am just looking for a way to look into the root cause

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
5 Replies
UmaHarano
Esri Regular Contributor

The SDK team will check this scenario out shortly. But in the meantime, can you try this note below?  This will help us narrow down the problem.

https://github.com/Esri/arcgis-pro-sdk/wiki/ProConcepts-Custom-Items#a-note-for-developers 

A Note for Developers

When working on Custom Items (or Custom Project Items) be aware that Custom Item classes are also registered for use by the ArcGIS Pro Indexer when ArcGIS Pro starts. This registration is done through an entry in this file:

%AppData%..\Local\ESRI\SearchResources\ItemInfoTypesExt.json

Usually this is of no consequence, but it is advisable to delete this file in-between sessions when you are developing your Custom Item and when you are refactoring your code.