ArcGIS Enterprise StartMultiuserEditing returns Workspace or data source is read only.

09-13-2023 09:54 AM
SivaNagarajan
New Contributor

Hello Experts,

I'm new to ArcGIS Pro and ArcGIS Enterprise SDK. I'm creating an editing tool in ArcGIS Pro. I'm facing "Workspace or data source is read only" error while trying to start edit. Here is details about the issue.

I'm using ArcSDE and connected through connection properties. But when I try to start editing it returns the error.

var config = Properties.Settings.Default;

IPropertySet propertySet = new PropertySet();
propertySet.SetProperty("Database", config.SDE_Database);
propertySet.SetProperty("INSTANCE", "sde:sqlserver:" + config.SDE_Server);
propertySet.SetProperty("USER", config.SDE_UserName);
propertySet.SetProperty("PASSWORD", config.SDE_Password);
propertySet.SetProperty("VERSION", config.SDE_Version);
return propertySet;

var workspace = GetWorkspace();
return (IFeatureWorkspace)workspace;[

_workspaceEdit = (IWorkspaceEdit)featureWorkspace;

IMultiuserWorkspaceEdit muWorkspaceEdit = (IMultiuserWorkspaceEdit)featureWorkspace;
muWorkspaceEdit.StartMultiuserEditing(esriMultiuserEditSessionMode.esriMESMVersioned);

_workspaceEdit.StartEditOperation();

0 Kudos
6 Replies
RichRuh
Esri Regular Contributor

Siva,

This looks like ArcObjects code designed for ArcMap.  ArcGIS Pro has a completely different API.  The documentation home page is here.

--Rich

0 Kudos
SivaNagarajan
New Contributor

@RichRuh, thanks for the details. Here, I want to provide more information to explain the problem.

ArcGIS Pro version: 3.1
Enterprise Geodatabase version: 11.1
ArcGIS Enterprise SDK version: 11.1
MS SQL Server version: 2022 Express