Will there be any redesign of ArcGIS Pro User Interface in the next 5 years?

Jump to solution
01-18-2022 06:09 AM
Labels (3)
manurohr
New Contributor

Hi,

I am new to ArcGIS Pro and am currently working as UX Designer. The software is quite powerful and astonishing what you can all achieve using this program.

However I am wondering if the UI of the software will be redesigned in the next 5 years. 

The UI looks pretty old-fashioned and the whole user experience using this software is not satisfactory (for examples, too many different tabs in same row that do not have any contextual relevance or dockpanes opening in different locations).

Therefore, I am curious about any new updates regarding UI/UX. 

Thanks for the feedback and kind regards,

Manuel

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RichardCaballero
Esri Contributor

Hi @manurohr 

You make some really good points! I am the UX lead for ArcGIS Pro and I can definitely look into this. We are not planning any major shifts in the UI, our model is to iteratively evolve and improve the user experience with each new release. 

I really appreciate your feedback, if you have any more feedback please let me know. 

Richard C. 

View solution in original post

8 Replies
BertKraan1
Occasional Contributor III

You should have seen ArcMAP, the predecessor of PRO !!

Personally I'm glad I've survived the transition from map to pro, my collegue didn't make it. (the transition that is, he is alive and well) so I'm not eager to have another UI update anytime soon.

I think the UI is a steep learning curve but once taken, Pro works well. I would rate it 8 out of 10

manurohr
New Contributor

Well, it´s now 2022 ;). 

It is not about learning everything until you can use the software well.

The point is to reduce concentration and confusion while using this software. So GIS professional or end-users can work much more efficient and have more joy using this powerful software.