Selective Labeling of Data Points

Jump to solution
07-18-2022 03:44 PM
Labels (2)
ItsAnt
by
New Contributor II

Hi Arc users,

I'm new to ArcGIS Pro and am having trouble with selective labeling. Put simply, I'm working with a dataset brought in from excel and all the data points are listed under a city category and I want to find a way to label only the data points in a particular city, and not have the data points in the other cities labeled.

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
AlfredBaldenweck
MVP Regular Contributor

There are actually a few different ways to do this.

Off the top of my head:

1. Definition queries-- This will filter your data (using a straight-forward UI or custom SQL) so only data from that one city will show up, period.
    1. AlfredBaldenweck_6-1658337882606.png

2. AlfredBaldenweck_5-1658337851680.png

2. Symbolize by unique value, using the City field, then select the values you don't want and remove them from the symbolization list. (The "<all other values>" patch can also be removed, 
    AlfredBaldenweck_0-1658337157374.png
  3. If you want to get fancy, you can use Arcade to just evaluate each record for if it matches an expression. (This is a really simple use of it, it can be a lot more complex depending on your needs)
    1. Open expression editor
      AlfredBaldenweck_1-1658337358891.png

2. Make sure that you're using text values if the field is text, otherwise use numbers.
      AlfredBaldenweck_2-1658337396233.png

3. Each record will be evaluated true or false:
      AlfredBaldenweck_4-1658337498071.png
    4. You can then get rid of the ones you don't like (See method 2).

View solution in original post

4 Replies
AlfredBaldenweck
MVP Regular Contributor

I think Label classes are what you're looking for.

0 Kudos
ItsAnt
by
New Contributor II