Python or ModelBuilder Help

11-07-2019 09:43 AM
JustinMays
New Contributor

Hello All,

I am trying to transition to ArcGIS Pro. I am not very good at programming and needed some help with either Python or ModelBuilder. 

I am tasked with creating maps for our documents to show sampling locations. I currently have all the layers such as the basemap, roads, boundaries, etc. added to the project. Currently, I manually import an edited excel file and I use the "display XY Data" to display the Lat and Long of our tracks to the map. The attribute table contains the following information shown in the attached file.

The excel file is data we took while moving in our vehicle that is equipped with GPS. What I am trying to do is use the information and place a marker point and use a style on that point anywhere that our vehicle was parked for more than 5 min. The excel file name is never the same and is created from data from Igor. The excel file is usually named in the following format (XXXXX DAQ Data XXXXXX.xlsx) where "X" are numbers for the date and case number. I am not sure if this is possible but I figured I would start with my question here.

Hopefully I posted this in the correct area!

Thank you in advance for any help!

Justin

0 Kudos
12 Replies
GarrettSeay1
New Contributor III

Can you share some of your excel? In particular, an area where you know you sat 5 min?

0 Kudos
JoeBorgione
MVP Emeritus

You might want to start with excel to table, which will translate your excel table into a geodatabase table format.  You provide the in excel name, the out geodata base, and the new table name.  IMHO, working with a table is easier than excel worksheets.

That should just about do it....
0 Kudos
RobertBorchert
Frequent Contributor III

I am wondering what your question is?

right click on your excel table and select Create Feature Class > From XY Table...

It should work unless your somewhere near Willa, Washington

JustinMays
New Contributor

Hi Robert,