Preferred Python IDE for use with ArcPro 3.0

09-14-2022 04:11 PM
YvonneSorovacu
New Contributor II

I am new to using python with ArcPro and have had some problems using the Spyder IDE. I could not install the most recent version of Spyder AND the version I could install (5.1.5) has a bunch of glitches. Most importantly, the debugger function does not seem to work. I don't need or want anything with too many bells and whistles, and I'm still learning about how to install packages and work with environments. What suggestions do folks have for a Python IDE that reliably works with ArcPro and doesn't require any complicated maneuvering to ensure compatibility?

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
8 Replies
DanPatterson
MVP Esteemed Contributor

spyder 5.1.5 is the only version you can install at present because of arcpy/arcgis dependencies that prevent installation of the latest version.

However, a "pip" install works to get spyder going with the latest version since it really doesn't care about the arcpy/arcgis issues, you may not have a bug free experience with Pro or its notebook functionality, but that depends on what you do with Pro

Recommendations for an IDE will be preference dependent.  Good luck

... sort of retired...
0 Kudos
YvonneSorovacu
New Contributor II

Thanks, Dan. 

0 Kudos
YvonneSorovacu
New Contributor II

Ugh. I am so frustrated. I think I'm ready to just de-install Spyder with ArcPro and reinstall it with Anaconda. Is there a good guide somewhere about how to use Spyder with ArcPro once I get it loaded with anaconda? Everything I'm reading is loaded down with SOOOOO much jargon. 

How does this approach sound? https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/building-standalone-arcgis-scripting-environment-jordan-carmona-gisp?...

0 Kudos
zengle17
New Contributor