Naming images from batch attachment export from a layer field

Jump to solution
11-01-2022 12:43 PM
Labels (3)
SRanseen
New Contributor III

Hi all.  I am not good at python at all. I have tried using other codes I found but am having no luck.  I am just not good enough to see what I need to change. 

I used the batch export attachment rules  and created the tool to export out the images but I need to have the images labeled with the asset_number from the layer so we don't have to go through and label each one individually.

I have GlobalID that create the relation between the tables but need the asset_number from the layer to be the actual image file name.

Any ideas?   I am working in pro 3.0

0 Kudos
1 Solution

Accepted Solutions
RhettZufelt
MVP Frequent Contributor

Below is what I am using.  I don't attach to a tool or anything.  I just hard code the feature class with attachments, and the attachemnt table.

import arcpy
import os

inFeatureClass = r'Database Connections\Database.sde\Database.DBO.Signs'         # feature class with attachments
pointFieldsList = ['GlobalID','asset_number']                 # fields to load into cursor

global_dict = {}                                           # dictionary to hold globalIDs and "name" field

fileLocation = r'C:\tmp\Attachments'                       # folder where attachments are saved MAKE SURE FOLDER EXISTS

with arcpy.da.SearchCursor(inFeatureClass, pointFieldsList) as point_cursor:  # cursor to make dict of globalID's
        for row in point_cursor:
          if row[1]:
            row1 = row[1]                                 # I'm using "asset_number" as my name field, but is
          else:                                           # not always populated.  if Null, substitute "NA"
            row1 = "NA"
          global_dict[row[0]] = [row[0],row1]             # add to dict with globallID as key, name as value