Laptop for beginners

12-06-2019 05:15 PM
KatieDino
New Contributor

Hello,

I am a student, just beginning my GIS courses.  Up to this point, I have been able to use my 2016 MacBook Pro.  Three of my future courses will require a machine that can run ArcGIS Pro 2.4.  For the past 15 years, I have only been using MacBooks. I have been advised to make sure that your computer meets the specifications needed to run ArcGIS Pro 2.4, both in terms of hardware but also the video/graphics adapter requirements (including the dedicated graphics RAM)  Your computer should meet the RECOMMENDED specifications, not the MINIMUM.  https://pro.arcgis.com/en/pro-app/get-started/arcgis-pro-system-requirements.htm

My question is, can I successfully partition the hard drive on my MacBook (specs below) to run the program or is it better to purchase a PC? 

If I need to buy a new machine, can someone recommend the best laptop for someone new to ArcGIS Pro 2.3 and unfamiliar with PCs?  I am looking for something that is user friendly and reasonably priced.

Thank you in advance!

2016 MacBook Pro (15- inch)
Processor: 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory: 16 GB 2133 MHz LPDDR3
Graphics: Intel HD Graphics 530 1536b MB
Storage: 500 GB Flash Storage (220.12 GB available)

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
10 Replies
curtvprice
MVP Esteemed Contributor