Import 3D Object to Arcgis Pro

10-16-2019 08:39 AM
Ha_YongWong
New Contributor II

i am new to Arcgis Pro.  Currently i have using drone to take photos for the buildings for a house area and converted to 3d object ie; .dae and .obj file. In the arcgis pro, i converted my .obj file generated for pix4d to multi patch features but the textures didn't displayed at all. Anyone know what i did wrong and if anyone keep to teach me the steps to convert a 3d obj file in latest Arcgis Pro. Thanks

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
9 Replies
Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

The Import 3D Files geoprocessing tool will import *.obj files into a geodatabase.  It does require the 3D Analyst extension though.

0 Kudos
Ha_YongWong
New Contributor II

i managed to import *.obj files into a gdb, but the textures is not displayed when i adding it to 3D map scene. any idea?

Robert_LeClair
Esri Notable Contributor

Hmmm...can you try a different 3d format such as *.3ds, *.wrl, *.flt or *.dae?  Is the result still the same?  Please advise.

Ha_YongWong
New Contributor II

Hi Robert,

I tried obj, dae and 3ds. And only *.dae displayed texture, but the *.dae

texture also not displayed as what i expected, only the top view is ok. if

view from side, it display something in "lines" instead of the actual.

Sorry, i am very new to arcgis, just activated our arcgis pro license

yesterday. it might due to the data that i prepare wrongly.

0 Kudos
Laura
by MVP
MVP

I'm having the same issue.

0 Kudos
SOVANMonisochineath
New Contributor

I am trying with ArcGIS Pro.  Currently i have using drone to take photos for the buildings for a house area and converted to 3d object ie; .dae and .obj file. In the arcgis pro, i converted my .obj file generated for pix4d to multi patch features but the textures didn't displayed at all. Anyone know what i did wrong and if anyone keep to teach me the steps to convert a 3d obj file in latest Arcgis Pro. Thanks

0 Kudos
SabrinaAcquaviva
New Contributor II